x

Academic Voices

aims to build the ACW community by sharing the experiences of academic writers.

Subscribe to
Academic Voices
Academic Coaching & Writing
Dissertation Doctor Blog
 

Conducting an Academic Job Search with Clarity, Positivity, and Resilience

Embarking on the academic job market is no small undertaking; your livelihood and your identity are on the line. And with all the negative messages about the current state of the academic job market from mentors, peers, and media fear mongers, you worry that your dream job may not come your way. Rather than seeing the job search as an adventure and an opportunity, you feel lost at sea.

Before you get started with your academic job search, join Caroline Eisner’s webinar for techniques on how to manage the uncertainty of an academic job search in ways that increase your clarity, positivity, and resilience.

During this webinar you will learn how to:

  • Understand why job searching triggers fears and uncertainties;
  • Create a positive framework and mindset for your job search;
  • Use the job search to articulate your brand and put your best self forward;
  • Clarify what you want to achieve with this job search, and how it fits into your career and life goals;
  • Assess job openings against your criteria; and
  • Cultivate resilience to sustain yourself during the job search process.

Join Caroline Eisner for this webinar August 3, 2017:

  • 1 p.m. Pacific time
  • 2 p.m. Mountain time
  • 3 p.m. Central time
  • 4 p.m. Eastern time

About the Presenter

Caroline Eisner is ACW's Executive Director and an Academic Writing Coach. Caroline works with faculty and graduate students to help them articulate their ideas in their academic writing through clear and precise prose. She also works with ACW clients to bring their academic brand to life online. Her previous experience includes positions as the Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the College at Landmark College,  Associate Director of the Sweetland Writing Center at the University of Michigan, and Director of the Writing Center at Georgetown University. Caroline co-edited a collection of essays, Originality, Imitation, and Plagiarism: Teaching Writing in the Digital Age (UM Press 2008). In the past she worked on the Visible Knowledge Project at Georgetown University, and currently she is the Director of Middlebury College Bread Loaf School of English’s BreadNet, a networking tool that has connected the classrooms of teachers since 1984. Caroline received a BA in English from the University of Pennsylvania, an MA in English from Middlebury College, and a PhD in British Literature from George Washington University.

ACW
Copyright © 2017 Academic Coaching and Writing LLC. All rights reserved. Dissertation Doctor is a registered trademark of Academic Coaching and Writing LLC.
Dissertation Coach - Academic Writing Coach - Tenure Coach

0 0 0